skip to Main Content

Ball State and Tulsa Set to Square Off in 2009 GMAC Bowl

(MOBILE, Ala.) – GMAC Bowl officials announced today that Ball State University and the University of Tulsa have accepted invitations to play in the 10th Anniversary GMAC BOWL on Tuesday, January 6, 2009, in Mobile, Alabama.

First-time MAC West Champion Ball State finished the regular season with a perfect 12 – 0 record, defeating conference rival Western Michigan 45 – 22 in front of a record crowd and earning them an invitation to the 10th Anniversary GMAC Bowl.

Ball State head football coach Brady Hoke has been selected the Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year. Junior quarterback, Nate Davis was selected the Offensive Player of the Year and Strong Safety, Sean Baker was named the MAC Freshman of the Year. Twelve members of the Ball State football team were selected to the All-MAC squads, which were selected by the league’s head coaches. Seven received first-team honors, three were named to the second team and two were named to the third team.

Davis has lead the Cardinals to a successful season with a 66.9% completion rate, 3,446 yards and 26 touchdowns, while running back MiQuale Lewis has had an impressive season with 306 carries for 1701 yards and 22 rushing touchdowns, averaging 5.6 yards per carry.

Tulsa (10-3, 7-2) the C-USA western division champions will be playing in their forth consecutive bowl appearance and their second in the GMAC Bowl, for a total of five bowl appearances in the last six years.

Tulsa defeated Bowling Green in last year’s GMAC Bowl 63 – 7, the largest margin of victory in bowl history, topping Alabama’s 61-6 win against Syracuse in the 1953 Orange Bowl. Golden Hurricane quarterback David Johnson, the nation’s top-rated passer, finished the regular season with a 66.1% completion rate, 3,671 yards and 42 touchdowns passing while Brennan Marrion ended with 39 catches for 1,058 yards, averaged 27.1 yards per catch and had 8 touchdowns.

“The GMAC Bowl is very excited to have two excellent teams with a combined 22 wins. We look forward to showcasing Mobile and our bowl game to the nation.” said GMAC Bowl President, Jerry Silverstein.

The 10th Anniversary GMAC Bowl will kickoff at 7:00 P.M (CST) January 6th 2009 at Ladd Peebles Stadium. ESPN will nationally broadcast the game.

For ticket information, please call the GMAC Bowl office at 251-635-0011.